#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

# HELD ON SUNDAY 27th NOVEMBER 2011 AT 10.30AM

### PRESENT:

62 members were present

# **APOLOGIES**;

The apologies as tabled were accepted and sustained.

A Morris, L Watt AGREED

<u>MINUTES</u> of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 22 November 2009 were accepted as a true and correct record:

R Watt, J Ashwell AGREED

### **MATTERS ARISING:**

- 1 Air quality This is still to be addressed and is referred to the incoming committee.
- 2 Flags A special thanks to Miriam Field

# PRESIDENTS REPORT

Allan Morris presented and tabled his report, emphasising reasons for the increase in table money to \$8.00. Special thanks to the members contributions through the year. Particularly Birgitta Muller – Almoner and Jan Ashwell for assisting with financial management, our staff- kitchen, B Fairs, P Carter-unquestionably the best director in the country and J Atkinson for her significant time and effort as change has been introduced.

A Morris, A Fitzgerald

**AGREED** 

### TREASURERS REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

Sharon Stretton presented and tabled her report.

The Financial Accounts were adopted and approved:

B Morris, J Ashwell

**AGREED** 

G Wakefield asked if the latest valuation had been objected to. This was referred to the incoming committee.

G Wakefield also asked about the grant from the Auckland Council. Word was normally received about 20<sup>th</sup> November, but as yet no correspondence had been received.

### CONFIRMATION OF AUDITOR

Moved that Walker Wayland be appointed Auditors for the following year.

S Stretton, A Morris AGREED

# APPOINTMENT OF OFFICERS & COMMITTEE.

**President** Russell Watt

**Vice-President** No nominations received from the floor

**Treasurer** John Wilson

# **COMMITTEE**

There are five vacancies for committee members with three nominations being received: Rhondda Sweetman, Tracey Lewis, Anthony Hopkins. Angie Fitzgerald was nominated by L Watt, seconded B Morris. No other nominations were received from the floor.

Presentations were then made to the outgoing committee members thaning them for their contribution to the Club.

R Watt thanked A Morris for his guidance and leadership over the past two years.

**APPLAUSE** 

#### LITTLEWOOD BURSARY:

The 2011 recipients of the Harry Littlewood Bursary are Wendy Oliver and Celia Powers.

### **APPLAUSE**

### **REMITS:**

#### **REMIT 1:**

Change to rules 19,21c and 24e to change the financial year from  $1^{st}$  October to  $30^{th}$  September to  $1^{st}$  July to  $30^{th}$  June.

### 19 Financial year

The financial year of the Club begins on the 1<sup>st</sup> day of July in each year, and ends on the 30th day of June

#### 21 Finance and accounts

C At the annual general meeting the Committee shall submit a statement of accounts of the Club as at 30<sup>th</sup> June and an account of the income and expenditure for the period, such accounts to be audited.

### 24 Annual general meeting

E The annual general meeting shall be held no later than 16 October, each year on a date fixed by the Committee.

Carried with one objection

## **REMIT 2:**

The Executive bans all smoking on Auckland Bridge Club property that exposes members and others to the effects of passive smoking and erects appropriate signage at all entrances, foyers and outer construction.

Proposed T Vasudev

Seconded

B Hart

T Vasudev spoke to the remit, confirming the intent was to ban smoking on the Auckland Bridge Club property.. Many members then spoke to the remit.

The remit was defeated.

# SUBSCRIPTIONS AND ENTRANCE FEES

The subscriptions for the coming year 2011 to remain the same as 2010

## **BALLOT FOR LOAN REPAYMENTS**

The ballot for loan repayments was made by the shuffling of cards 1-8 by an attendee and drawn by another attendee at the meeting. The ballot numbers were held by the treasurer and are clearly numbered on the Loan documents. The number 1 was drawn. As this was a \$2000.00 repayment, no other number was drawn.

### **GENERAL BUSINESS**

Janet Barnard asked if any change was proposed for Friday 12.15pm session. No change to be made in 2012.

# THE MEETNG CLOSED AT 11.45am